Faculty, departments honored in January

Every fall and spring, convocation honors excellence at NMSU. In January, three Regents Professors, 11 faculty members and two departments were honored at the Spring 2018 Convocation ceremony.

Eve Adams, College of Education Counseling and Educational Psychology Department; Kathryn Hanley, College of Arts and Sciences Biology Department; and Bernhard Leinauer, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences Extension Plant Sciences Department, were named Regents Professors. 

The Regents Professorship, established in 2001 by the NMSU Board of Regents, recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the university’s mission and honors successes in the areas of education and research. A panel of Regents Professors evaluate faculty-submitted nominations from throughout the university system. The recognition is accompanied by a $12,500 annual stipend.

Eleven faculty members received the Donald C. Roush Award in recognition of their teaching excellence. They are Brian Schutte, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences; Dante De Blassie, College of Arts and Sciences; Gabriela E. Moreno, College of Arts and Sciences; Paula Jean Groves, College of Business; Judith Flores Carmona, College of Education; Krishna Kota, College of Engineering; Cheryl M. Lombardi, College of Health and Social Services; Jennifer Smith, NMSU Alamogordo; Jalal Hamedi, NMSU Carlsbad; Elizabeth Gamboa, NMSU Dona Aña; and Gail Burke, NMSU Grants.

The Department of Anthropology and Housing and Residential Life received the Outcomes Assessment Committee for Co-Curriculum, Administration and Operations Excellence in Assessment Award.

Jane Moorman 

At the 2018 Spring Convocation held at Atkinson Recital Hall, New Mexico State University recognized Regents Professors, Donald C. Roush award recipients, Presidential Medallion honorees and two departments. From left are William Walker, Rani Alexander, Dante De Blassie, Judith Flores Carmona, Jalal Hamedi, Gabriela Moreno, Eve Adams, Kathryn Hanley, Lori Henson, Bernhard Leinauer, Elizabeth Gamboa, Cheryl Lombardi, Paula Jean Groves and Brian Schutte.