Faculty, staff honored at fall convocation ceremony

NMSU honored faculty and staff join members of the Board of Regents Ammu Devasthali and Dina
Chacón-Reitzel, NMSU Chancellor Dan Arvizu, NMSU President John Floros and NMSU Provost Carol Parker at the 2019 fall convocation ceremony at the Atkinson Recital Hall in August.

NMSU honored faculty and staff at the 2019 fall convocation ceremony in August at the Atkinson Recital Hall. Every fall and spring convocation celebrates the start of a new semester.

Reflecting NMSU’s commitment of excelling at supporting students in achieving their educational goals, four awards were presented to five faculty members and a staff member for their service to students.

Robert Ewing, Department of Accounting and Information Systems, and Hyeongjun Park, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, received the Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Award. Anaka Gorz, Center for Academic Advising and Student Support, and Robert Steiner, Department of Economics and International Business, received the Excellence in Academic Advising Award. Lois Stanford, Department of Anthropology, received the Westhafer Award, which is given for excellence in teaching. John Idowu, Extension plant science agronomist, received the Distinguished Extension Award for outstanding leadership. 

Jane Moorman