About the Spring 2023 Edition


This issue of Panorama is produced by the office of Marketing and Communications, New Mexico State University, 575-646-3221. Correspondences may be sent to Marketing and Communications, MSC 3K, New Mexico State University, P.O. Box 30001, Las Cruces, NM 88003-3590 or panorama@nmsu.edu. Panorama is published two times annually. New Mexico State University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action employer and educator. The magazine can be found online at panorama.nmsu.edu.



Tiffany Acosta

Assistant Editor

Adriana M. Chávez ’19

Art Director

Gerald Rel


Emmanuel Asante ’21, Josh Bachman ’07, Minerva Baumann ’13, Ralph Diaz ’15, Tatiana Favela ’15, Derek Flodmand, Stephanie Garcia ’18 ’20, Nora Hahn, Denise LaFrance-Ojinaga ’03, Ingrid Leyva, Carlos Andres López ’10, Darren Phillips, Elaine Stachera Simon, James Staley ’02, Southwest Creative Company, Albert Vasquez ’17

 Interim Chancellor

Jay Gogue

Interim President, NMSU Foundation

David H. Strong

Vice President of External Relations

Lynn Schlemeyer

Associate Vice President for Marketing and Communications

Justin Bannister ’03 ’13

Executive Director of Marketing, Web and Brand Management

Melissa Chavira ’03 ’05 ’11

Director of Communications and Media Relations

Amanda Bradford ’03 ’21


NMSU Alumni Association Board of Directors Executive Council


Michael Law ’05 


Paulo Tomasovich ’02


Kim Archuleta ’96 ’03

Past President

Carol Smallwood ’83


NMSU Alumni Association International Board of Directors Executive Council


Christian Hendrickson ’97

Vice Chair

Louis Vega ’92

Past Chair

Kyle Louvar ’98


Aaron De Los Santos ’04


Amy Hummer