Skip to main content

New Regents Professors named

Three professors were recognized with Regents Professorships, the highest honor bestowed upon faculty at NMSU, during spring convocation in January 2020.

Rolston St. Hilaire, in the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences, and Julia Barello and Graciela Unguez, both in the College of Arts and Sciences, received the accolade.

Nineteen faculty members and one department were also recognized. The Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Award recipients were John W. Campbell, College of ACES; James W. Herndon and Jean-Paul Vessel, College of Arts and Sciences; Charlotte Gard, College of Business; Magdalena Pando, College of Education; Terry W. Armstrong, College of Engineering; Myra J. Garcia, College of Health and Social Services; Sonja De Vargas, NMSU Alamogordo; Jamil Al-Nouman, NMSU Carlsbad; Edward G. Lopez, Doña Ana Community College; and Connie Lyons, NMSU Grants.

The University Research Council recognized five faculty and staff in three categories with the Exceptional Achievement in Creative Scholarly Activity. They are Abdessattar Abdelkefi, Mechanical Engineering; Nicole Pietrasiak, Plant and Environmental Sciences; Barbara Chamberlin, Innovative Media Research and Extension; Williams Gould, College of Business; and Mark Klaene, College of Arts and Sciences. The Engineering Technology and Surveying Engineering department received the Excellence in Assessment Award.


The spring convocation award winners were honored in January 2020 at the Atkinson Music Recital Hall.