Skip to main content

Eight faculty members honored for teaching, research at first-ever virtual convocation

Although convocation shifted to an all-virtual experience for the first time in NMSU history in spring 2021, the time-honored tradition of celebrating academic excellence remained unchanged in spirit. Coordinated by NMSU Teaching Academy Director Tara Gray, the ceremony featured remarks from Provost Carol Parker and an awards presentation, during which eight faculty members were honored by their peers for achievements in teaching and research.

The award winners were: Nichole Hamilton, Department of Theatre Arts, and Kate Bove, Department of Languages and Linguistics, who each received the Christmore Award for Teaching Excellence; Akasha Faist, Department of Animal and Range Sciences, who received the Early Career Award; Abdu Abdelkefi, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, who received the Westhafer Award, the highest award for research at NMSU; Igor Sevostianov, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, who received the Distinguished Career Award; Punam Thakur, Carlsbad Environmental Monitoring and Research Center, who received the Research Recognition Award; and Laura Anh Williams and Catherine Jonet, both of the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies, who received the Team Research Award.