Skip to main content

NMSU bestows teaching, outreach awards at fall 2022 convocation

Five educators and an influential chile researcher from NMSU were honored with teaching and outreach awards during the university’s fall 2022 convocation.

Matthew Sievert, an assistant professor of physics, and Kathryn Olszowy, an assistant professor of anthropology, received the Patricia Christmore Awards for Teaching Excellence. 

Marija Dimitrijevic, a college associate professor of criminal justice, Derek Chase, a college assistant professor of animation and visual effects in NMSU’s Creative Media Institute, and Jiming Chu, a professor and chair of the Science Department at Doña Ana Community College, received the Donald C. Roush Awards for Teaching Excellence. 

Stephanie Walker, a vegetable specialist with NMSU’s Cooperative Extension Service, received NMSU’s Community Engagement, Outreach and Extension Award.

During convocation, NMSU leaders also unveiled a new tradition to recognize new and recently promoted faculty. As of the start of the fall 2022 semester, NMSU had 127 new or newly promoted faculty members on the Las Cruces campus, as well as 16 new or newly promoted faculty members across its community colleges.


Kathryn Olszowy (from left), Derek Chase, Marija Dimitrijevic, Matthew Sievert, Stephanie Walker and Jiming Chu received awards during NMSU’s fall 2022 convocation ceremony.