Skip to main content

Faculty honored at fall convocation for teaching excellence

NMSU presented several teaching awards during its fall convocation in August 2023. Betsy Stringam ’16 (from left), hotel, restaurant and tourism management professor, received the Westhafer Award for Excellence in Teaching; Susana Ibarra Johnson, bilingual education and teaching English to speakers of other languages assistant professor, received the Patricia Christmore Award for Teaching Excellence; Paola Bandini, Wells-Hatch professor and civil engineering associate department head, and Kim Lopez Gallagher, NMSU Alamogordo professor, received the Donald C. Roush Awards for Teaching Excellence; and Gain Park, journalism and media studies assistant professor, received the Christmore Award.