Skip to main content

Then & now

NMSU's first day 

On Sept. 17, 1888, Las Cruces College opened for its first school year with veteran educator Hiram Hadley serving as its first president. The college eventually became known as NMSU. The university now sees an enrollment of about 14,000 students from 89 countries, and is a land-grant and space-grant institution.

To learn more about NMSU’s history, visit 

Aggie football

The first Aggie football team was established during the 1893-94 school year and included a number of the college’s first graduates, including famed agriculturalist Fabián García, who helped start the team along with classmates Ralph Larkin, Oscar Snow and Lemuel McGarth. In 2022, head coach Jerry Kill led the Aggies to their first bowl win since 2017. 

To learn more about the team, visit 

Corbett Center Student Union

In fall 1968, Corbett Center Student Union debuted to the campus community and immediately became the social center of the university. In 1996, about 50,000 square feet were added to the building, which now houses several student-centric offices, a post office, eateries, meeting spaces and Pete’s Patio.

To see what else Corbett Center has to offer, visit